Last weekend, I took a break from my normal work-studio-home routine and attended the African Hair Summit at the Ladi Kwali Hall, Sheraton Hotel, Abuja (The Summit held on the 17th and 18 of June, 2016). Though I had planned on attending, I got the push I needed from Farida of Lumo Naturals. She invited me to help out at her Kiso Corner where the Summit’s participants were given free hairdos.

  IMG_20160618_112411-tile

 I apologize for the quality of some of the pics. Unfortunately, I forgot my camera and had to use my phone to take the pictures. Also, I wasn’t able to attend the 1st day of the Summit due to work engagements, so I only have pics for the 2nd day. If you’d like to see pics from both days, please follow the African Hair Summit on Instagram @africanhairsummit.

  IMG_20160619_212344 IMG_20160619_202517 IMG_20160619_175911

Though I missed the first day, day 2 still packed a punch. Highlight of the Summit for me? Well, I actually had several highlights. First was meeting my hair crush, Chinwe of Igbocurls, and meeting the beautiful Kate Henshaw. Second was getting to meet Mr. Zakariya, a representative of the Ministry of Science and Technology and Mrs. Ruth Ebhota, CEO, Ruvie Natural Organic Cosmetics. I learned a lot from their talks (and follow-up conversations), and was given a heads up on how to position my up-coming product line. My dreams of factories are beginning to materialize, lol. Third highlight was being able to interact with all the vendors. Many were indigenous brands such as Kakiva Cosmetics, Fragrance Bar, Lumo Naturals, and House of Merola. Soso Naturals was there with products from the Ghanaian Brand, We Naturals as well as CWK SSS Plates. Natural Nation SalonWow Braids and Perfect Trust Cosmetics were also in attendance.

With the beautiful Kate Henshaw
With the gorgeous Kate Henshaw
With the beautiful Chinwe Juliet
With the beautiful Chinwe Juliet
The beautiful Chinwe
My hair crush!

With the turnout at the event, you can bet next year will be even bigger and better!

Were you at the event? What did you think?

Kiki

 

IG and Twitter: @naturalleekiki

Facebook: Naturallee Kiki

NEW BBM Channel: C001BA269